Featured

Thank You

Thanks for joining me!  I hope you enjoy my book blog, and I hope that I can turn you on to a great book or a fantastic author.  Feel free to contact me if you have any questions, thoughts, or improvements on how I can better make my blog or reviews work for all my readers.  If you have any recommendations I’ll be sure to check them out.  Thanks again for checking out my little blog!

Cover Reveal: STOLEN LOVE by Charmaine Pauls

BLURB 

Once upon a time, a thief stole me in the middle of the night. He took what he wanted, gave me an illusion, and ripped it all away to claim his ultimate trophy. My heart may be physically weak, but fighting to live made me stronger. I won’t perish as easily as that. I’m turning the tables on him. After all, I learned from the best. I’m robbing him of what he stole from me.

❣️A Diamond Magnate Novel

❣️Series: Beauty in the Stolen Trilogy #3

❣️Author: Charmaine Pauls

❣️Genre: Dark Romance

❣️Cover Design: Okay Creations

❣️Photo: Wander Aguiar Photography

❣️Models: Cassidy & Zack

❣️Release Date: June 22, 2021

GIVEAWAY 

Direct Link:


 http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/ba3ffd552775

EXCERPT

I suck in a breath. His back sports a new tattoo. An orange tree runs from his flank up to his shoulder. The roots branch out over his lower back and side. It’s so well drawn it looks as if the network of roots are grafted with his skin. A branch with orange blossoms runs up to his shoulder. The petals curl over the arch, only the tips of a flower visible on the curve as he faces me again.
Why did he get it? The answer is obvious. The truth stares me in the face. He never said it, but he declared it in permanent ink on his skin next to the values that govern his behavior, his life.
“It’s not some kind of gravestone,” he says in a quiet voice.
My gaze slips to the pendant on the leather string that hangs in the center of his breastbone. “What’s not a gravestone?” I ask, pretending not to know what he’s talking about. It’s too deep, too personal. We don’t share that kind of intimacy any longer.
“The tattoo. It doesn’t symbolize grief.”
I can’t help from asking, “What does it symbolize?” 
“Love.” His gaze intensifies. “The kind that gets under your skin.”

PRE-ORDER LINKS 
 

US: https://amzn.to/3v1BNx8
UK: https://amzn.to/2MJKXgr
CA: https://amzn.to/3kFLJrc
AU: https://amzn.to/3rdxUTf
B&N: https://bit.ly/3rhUBpt
Kobo: https://bit.ly/3kP9xZW
Apple Books: http://apple.co/3qeVFsM
Google Play: https://bit.ly/3bcSGwL

AVAILABLE NOW

#1 Stolen Lust

US: https://amzn.to/2NYLzPN
UK: https://amzn.to/308IE9B
CA: https://amzn.to/3bYwVjx
AU: https://amzn.to/3uMajLT
B&N: https://bit.ly/3rfQj1I
Kobo: https://bit.ly/3sFIFhw
Apple Books: http://apple.co/3c0vz7J
Google Play: https://bit.ly/3bckXDK


 

#2 Stolen Life

qUS: https://amzn.to/3kKLifs
UK: https://amzn.to/306eZ0Q
CA: https://amzn.to/3e4Gyjc
AU: https://amzn.to/3bXoAg2
B&N: https://bit.ly/3bYxPMT
Kobo: https://bit.ly/387ozoC
Apple Books: http://apple.co/2OmRldH
Google Play: https://bit.ly/3reM1rA

AUTHOR LINKS


 Website: https://charmainepauls.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ForbiddenArts
Facebook Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/1120749574670443
Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Charmaine-Pauls/e/B005LY9B82
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5161287.Charmaine_Pauls
Twitter:  https://twitter.com/CharmainePauls
Bookbub: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/charmaine-pauls
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/charmainepaulsbooks


 AUTHOR BIO

Charmaine Pauls was born in Bloemfontein, South Africa. She obtained a degree in Communication at the University of Potchestroom, and followed a diverse career path in journalism, public relations, advertising, communications, photography, graphic design, and brand marketing. Her writing has always been an integral part of her professions. 

After relocating to Chile with her French husband, she fulfilled her passion to write creatively full-time. Charmaine has published over twenty novels since 2011, as well as several short stories and articles. Two of her shorts have been selected by the International Literary Society for an anthology from across the African continent.

When she is not writing, she likes to travel, read, and rescue cats. Charmaine currently lives in France with her husband and children. Their household is a linguistic mélange of Afrikaans, English, French and Spanish.

Possession

Title: Possession

Author: Katie Lowe

My Rating: 🌟🌟🌟.5

Content Rating: 18+

Genre: Psychological Thriller, Suspense, Contemporary

Published: February 9th 2021, by St. Martin’s Press

Possession, written by Katie Lowe, is a psychological thriller about Hannah, whose husband, Graham, was murdered in their home. The catch is Hannah was the only one, besides her sleeping daughter, in the house at the time. But somehow, she doesn’t remember anything about the night of the murder other than waking up to find her husband stabbed to death.

“Tap. Tap. Tap. It’s the sound of my husband’s blood on the floorboards that wakes me.
Like a dripping faucet.”

Fast forward ten years, Graham’s killer is behind bars, Hannah has left London and all the horrid memories that it holds, and has moved to Derbyshire with her daughter. She has moved on with her life and is in a seven-year relationship with a wonderful man, Dan. Dan adores her daughter Evie, and Evie loves him too. Hannah has an admirable job as a psychiatrist at an eating disorder clinic and is happy until Conviction, a true-crime podcast, starts looking into her husband’s murder. With every new episode of Conviction, Hannah becomes a little more psychologically unhinged. I feel like I can’t say anything more about the plot without giving too much away.

What I loved about this book was its depth of detail that Lowe puts into Hannah; she was the perfect unreliable narrator. I felt Hannah’s sanity slipping away bit by bit. Hannah was not a very likable character, but I did find myself weirdly drawn to her. 

What detracted from the book was the pacing. The book starts with a bang and then kind of drags in the middle. I felt as if Lowe gave us too much; sometimes, less is more. However, there were twists, turns, and lots of misdirection throughout, and that did keep me reading; I wanted to know “who done it.” But at the same time, a lot was going on in this story, different timelines, side stories which made it a bit hard to follow.

However, in the end, Lowe did pull it all together. The ending was good, and it did surprise me. But again, there was something a bit off. Maybe it was some of the unrealistic aspects of the book that didn’t add up. This book was written as true fiction, so in my mind, it needed to be believable.  

Possession is the first book I have read by this author, and I did enjoy her writing style. However, for me, this was a mixed bag, some things I liked and other things not so much. Overall, this was an entertaining read, with excellent character development and a well-thought-out storyline. If you are willing to put aside some believability, you will enjoy this book.  

* Please note the quotes in my review are subject to change once the book is published. * 

** I kindly received this galley by way of NetGalley, Katie Lowe, and St. Martin’s Press. I was not contacted, asked, or required to leave a review. I received no compensation, financial or otherwise. I have voluntarily read this book, and this review is my honest opinion. **

Stolen Life (Beauty in the Stolen #2)

Author: Charmaine Pauls

My Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Content Rating: 18+

Genre: Dark Romance, Suspense

Published: May 18th, 2021

Reader beware, Stole Life, book two in the Beauty in the Stolen series, will mesmerize you from the first word till the very last word and leave you wanting more as Pauls delivers one heck of a cliffhanger.

One can only wonder how Ms. Pauls will top this second book, but if you are a fan of her books, you know pretty well that she will do just that! I have said this many times in my other reviews of her books; Pauls is the master of the dark romance genre, but it’s just not the intense romance that will grab you in this series; the suspense might drive you crazy, in the best way possible. If you have not read the first book in this trilogy, Stolen Lust, stop now, and read it!

Stolen Life seamlessly begins where Stolen Lust left off– with Ian drugging and kidnapping Cas, bring her to his home in Zimbabwe. 

“…I could only do what was always destine to happen. I could only steal more, not simply a few more hours of her time but her life.” Ian Hart

I loved the personal transformation that Ian and Cas develop, independent of one another and together as a couple. Slowly Cas realizes that Ian is the one for her, but she still gives Ian a run for his money, bucking him at every turn and proving that she is his equal. I loved how Pauls had Ian slowly open up and share his past with Cas, some of which was dark and troubling to read but so necessary to get to know the true Ian. 

“I’ll give her these difficult parts of myself to make up for what I can’t give her—a choice.” Ian Hart

Pauls shows us the man beyond the most notorious criminal in the country. We see that underneath the dark, dominant scary man, there is gentleness and a deep love for the community and people he surrounds himself. And, of course, the crazy intense attraction these two have for each other continues and becomes in a sense deeper and more soulful. 

“When I accept to love our darkness as much as I love what’s good between us, peace dawns. There’s no more judgment, no mind wrestling…There’s only my heart…my heart has always been all that matters.” Cas

In true Pauls’ fashion, disaster is just a moment away, and she doesn’t hold back. She combines deceit, treachery, jealously, betrayal, and heartbreak; all rolled into one incredible cliffhanger. I was in total shock, so much so that I had to go back and read it two more times, with my mouth hanging open. WHY Charmain… WHY??? 

I now consider Pauls the master of the cliffhanger; she is a deviously cruel and a fantastic writer. But no worries, we won’t have to wait long; Stolen Love (Beauty in the Stolen #3) is due to be published on June 22nd, 2021.

* Please note the quotes in my review are subject to change once the book is published. * 

** I kindly received this book by Charmaine Pauls. I was not contacted, asked, or required to leave a review. I received no compensation, financial or otherwise. I have voluntarily read this book, and this review is my honest opinion. **

PURCHASE LINKS 
 
US: https://amzn.to/3kKLifs
UK: https://amzn.to/306eZ0Q
CA: https://amzn.to/3e4Gyjc
AU: https://amzn.to/3bXoAg2
B&N: https://bit.ly/3bYxPMT
Kobo: https://bit.ly/387ozoC
Apple Books: http://apple.co/2OmRldH
Google Play: https://bit.ly/3reM1rA
 

AUTHOR BIO

Charmaine Pauls was born in Bloemfontein, South Africa. She obtained a degree in Communication at the University of Potchestroom, and followed a diverse career path in journalism, public relations, advertising, communications, photography, graphic design, and brand marketing. Her writing has always been an integral part of her professions. 

After relocating to Chile with her French husband, she fulfilled her passion to write creatively full-time. Charmaine has published over twenty novels since 2011, as well as several short stories and articles. Two of her shorts have been selected by the International Literary Society for an anthology from across the African continent.

When she is not writing, she likes to travel, read, and rescue cats. Charmaine currently lives in France with her husband and children. Their household is a linguistic mélange of Afrikaans, English, French and Spanish.

AUTHOR LINKS
 
Website: https://charmainepauls.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ForbiddenArts
Facebook Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/1120749574670443
Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Charmaine-Pauls/e/B005LY9B82
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5161287.Charmaine_Pauls
Twitter:  https://twitter.com/CharmainePauls
Bookbub: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/charmaine-pauls
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/charmainepaulsbooks

GIVEAWAY
 
There is a giveaway for a $50 Amazon gift card

Direct Link:
 
http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/ba3ffd552773
   

The Last Tiara

Author: M.J. Rose

My Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟

Content Rating: 16+

Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance, Mystery 

Published: February 2, 2021, by Blue Box Press

The Last Tiara, written by M. J. Rose, is a beautiful story that weaves the touching relationship between mother and daughter while intertwining 1915 Russia and 1948 America.  The Last Tiara is expertly research and well written. Ms. Rose writes this book with sharp attention to historical detail but also laced with romance and mystery.

Alexander Palace in Tsarskoe Seloe Russia

Isabelle Moon is a young architect in post-WW2. She is living and working in Oak Ridge, Tennessee, where she is transforming the secrete cities tasked with making the first nuclear bomb back into livable cities. On December 9, Isabelle gets a frantic phone call from her aunt informing her that her mother was hit by a car and has died.  Isabelle then rushes home to New York to morn her mother. When she returns to her job, she begins to feel lost.

New York City 1948

When an opening becomes available in New York, Isabelle jumps at the opportunity. She moves back into the apartment she shared with her mother. While renovating their shared apartment, she stumbles upon a tiara stripped of all its gemstones. This begins her journey of discovering what her mother’s life was like during the fall of the Romanov’s rule. 

Grand Duchess Olga and her sister Titiana

This story alternates between mother and daughter and between their respective times. I have always been obsessed with all things Romanov, so that part was a real treat for me. I also loved that the author wrote with wonderfully rich historical detail. Although this didn’t necessarily add to the plot, I feel that it added to the enjoyment of the whole book, and I learned a bit of history. I thought the mystery element was well developed and thought out, and it did keep me guessing throughout the whole book.  I would have liked to see the author develop the two main characters a bit more. But overall, The Last Tiara is a well-written book that I enjoyed and would recommend it.

** I kindly received The Last Tiara by way of Net Galley, Blue Box Press, and M.J. Rose. I was not contacted, asked, or required to leave a review. I received no compensation, financial or otherwise. I have voluntarily read this book, and this review is my honest opinion. **

COVER REVEAL

COVER REVEAL
Title: Stolen Life
A Diamond Magnate Novel

Series: Beauty in the Stolen Trilogy #2
Author: Charmaine Pauls
Genre: Dark Romance
Cover Design: Okay Creations
Photo: Wander Aguiar Photography
Model: Cassidy
Release Date: May 18, 2021
 

GIVEAWAY

Direct Link:
 
http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/ba3ffd552766

BLURB 
 
Ian Hart stole a night of my life but he took so much more. His obsession pinned a label on me. His lust put me in an impossible situation. Now I have to choose sides. I have to decide between right and wrong. Only, no matter what choice I make, each comes with dreadful consequences. There’s only one way this can end—how every tragedy ends.

EXCERPT
 
His voice lowers with intent. “Know this, if you do run, I’ll slap a pair of ankle cuffs on you so fast you won’t have time to say my name. There’ll be no more playing nice. I’ll tie you to my bed if that’s what I have to do.” Cupping my jaw, he delivers the threat with a soft kiss on my lips. “The choice is yours.”
The heavy blow is dealt with tender words. They sift down like snowflakes to settle cold in my heart. I tremble as he pushes me down onto the hood and leans over me.
“What will it be, Cas?”
He’s not asking if I’m on board with this limited version of freedom. When he unbuttons my jeans, he’s asking a different question, and, as always, when he slips his hand into my underwear, he gets the truth.

PRE-ORDER LINKS 
 
US: https://amzn.to/3kKLifs
UK: https://amzn.to/306eZ0Q
CA: https://amzn.to/3e4Gyjc
AU: https://amzn.to/3bXoAg2
B&N: https://bit.ly/3bYxPMT
Kobo: https://bit.ly/387ozoC
Apple Books: http://apple.co/2OmRldH
Google Play: https://bit.ly/3reM1rA
  

 AVAILABLE NOW
 
#1 Stolen Lust
 
US: https://amzn.to/2NYLzPN
UK: https://amzn.to/308IE9B
CA: https://amzn.to/3bYwVjx
AU: https://amzn.to/3uMajLT
B&N: https://bit.ly/3rfQj1I
Kobo: https://bit.ly/3sFIFhw
Apple Books: http://apple.co/3c0vz7J
Google Play: https://bit.ly/3bckXDK

COMING SOON
 
#3 Stolen Love – Releasing June 22
 
US: https://amzn.to/3v1BNx8
UK: https://amzn.to/2MJKXgr
CA: https://amzn.to/3kFLJrc
AU: https://amzn.to/3rdxUTf
B&N: https://bit.ly/3rhUBpt
Kobo: https://bit.ly/3kP9xZW
Apple Books: http://apple.co/3qeVFsM
Google Play: https://bit.ly/3bcSGwL

AUTHOR BIO

Charmaine Pauls was born in Bloemfontein, South Africa. She obtained a degree in Communication at the University of Potchestroom, and followed a diverse career path in journalism, public relations, advertising, communications, photography, graphic design, and brand marketing. Her writing has always been an integral part of her professions. 

After relocating to Chile with her French husband, she fulfilled her passion to write creatively full-time. Charmaine has published over twenty novels since 2011, as well as several short stories and articles. Two of her shorts have been selected by the International Literary Society for an anthology from across the African continent.

When she is not writing, she likes to travel, read, and rescue cats. Charmaine currently lives in France with her husband and children. Their household is a linguistic mélange of Afrikaans, English, French and Spanish.

AUTHOR LINKS
 
Website: https://charmainepauls.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ForbiddenArts
Facebook Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/1120749574670443
Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Charmaine-Pauls/e/B005LY9B82
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5161287.Charmaine_Pauls
Twitter:  https://twitter.com/CharmainePauls
Bookbub: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/charmaine-pauls
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/charmainepaulsbooks


 

THE POWER COUPLE

Author: Alex Berenson

My Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Content Rating: 18+

Genre: Thriller, Mystery, Suspense, Contemporary Fiction

Published: February 9, 2021, by Simon Schuster

Alex Berenson gives us a fast-paced, well-written edge of your seat book that will have you wondering what secrets your spouse is keeping from you. The Power Couple is the first book by this author that I have read, and I will go back for more. I found The Power Couple hard to categorize this book; it is a domestic thriller, with some international espionage thrown in the mix. But I will not worry about giving it a label; plain and simple, it’s a fun book to read.

The story is told by the two main characters who make up “The Power Couple,” Rebecca and Brian Unsworth. Even their last name describes them perfectly. There are so many secrets, lies, deceit, deception, and jealously between two people who supposedly love each other that it made my head spin. The author did a perfect job in writing these two despicable people. There wasn’t one redeeming quality to be found between the two of them. And if you give this book a chance, you will come to love to hate them as much as I did.  

The whole idea of this story is centered around Rebecca and Brian, who at one time loved each other. As Rebecca’s FBI career becomes more successful, Brian floats along as a stay-at-home dad, they slowly drift apart, becoming resentful of each other. Then Brian lands a job at the NSA and then invents an app that becomes instantaneously successful and earns him a big bonus. To celebrate, they go on a family vacation with their teenage daughter Kira and son Tony. While in Barcelona, Kira goes out clubbing and doesn’t come home. This is when things get very interesting, and in my opinion, Kira steals the show. Sorry, that is all I am willing to reveal about the story, no spoilers in this review.

This book was fast-paced, kept my interest throughout, and had a great ending. There are so many twists and turns I didn’t see coming, which kept me turning the pages as quickly as possible. So, for me, this was a 4.5-star rating until the very end. The ending for me did the trick, 5-stars for the incredible ending. An added plus was that the author is a man writing two strong female characters. But as I think back about this story, I am not sure who the strong female character is, Rebecca or Kira or maybe both. So, in the end, I enjoyed this book, and I highly recommend The Power Couple. 

** I kindly received this galley by way of NetGalley, publisher, and author. I was not contacted, asked, or required to leave a review. I received no compensation, financial or otherwise. I have voluntarily read this book, and this review is my honest opinion. **

STOLEN LUST: A Diamond Magnate Novel

Author: Charmain Pauls

My Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Content Rating: 18+

Genre: Dark Romance with a side of Suspense

Published: April 13, 2021

Stolen Lust is the first book in the Beauty in the Stolen trilogy and part of the Diamond Magnate Collection (DMC). If you are new to the DMC, you can undoubtedly pick up Stolen Lust and enjoy it; but understand that you are truly missing out on a fantastic collection of books. 

Charmain Pauls again entices us and then entraps us with a seemingly impossible romance between two very different but sometimes surprisingly similar people. 

Ms. Pauls’ female character Cas is strong, fiercely independent, and a bit impulsive but at the same time vulnerable. And boy, oh boy, has Cas meet her match with Ian Hart. Ms. Pauls is the queen of writing the anti-hero. Somehow, she has always made me fall just a bit (well, a lot) for her bad boys. Ian Hart is no exception; he is all you could ever want in an anti-hero. Ian is controlling, dark, sinfully sexy, and he exudes this crazy intensity from every part of his being. And no one in their right mind could resist him, not even Cas.

“He looks devastatingly hot, my mind battles to separate ethics from admiration. Maybe admiration is the wrong word. Maybe it’s just pure old lust, a biological female reaction to his male beauty and virility.”

Don’t think that Ian is just another pretty face; he is one of the most notorious criminals in South Africa who happens to be wild, dangerous, and wickedly smart. He is a man who known what he wants and how to get it. And from the first time Ian saw Cas, he knew he had to have her, and he is willing to do anything and risk everything. 

“…When I saw her…I wanted her, all of her, to touch and smell and taste every inch of her skin.”

The story starts with Cas reluctantly agreeing to go on a date with Mint, who has been asking her out for over a year. Mint is a wealthy man who turns out to be a disgusting coward, and that’s all I will say about him. They go on a date to the casino in Bophuthatswana, South Africa, and this is where Ian sets his sites on Cas. If Cas thought her life was tough before Ian noticed her, she has no clue as to how life is about to change with Hart in her life. There are steamy scenes, intense suspense, and tender moments throughout this entire book.  And that’s all I am willing to say about this story.

I am willing to say that this book should come with a tall glass of ice water and a fan because Cas and Ian’s attraction is explosive. Ms. Pauls writes her books with delightful darkness and pure lust. I found myself blushing and drooling at the same time, and I loved every word I read. I finished this book in one sitting, and it left me wanting more. Remember, this is a dark romance, with scenes that may make some people uncomfortable.  

Although Pauls’ books may be a bit similar in the basic premise, she somehow comes up with distinctive and original storylines that always keep me coming back for more. Not only are the storylines incredibly unique Ms. Pauls fills her books with characters that are written with a thought-provoking intensity that will leave you breathless while working their way into your heart and mind. 

When I read a Charmain Pauls book, I have very high expectations, and she has never disappointed me. I highly recommend Stolen Lust. Please note there is a cliffhanger at the end of Stolen Lust, but it’s a pretty great one and perfectly fits the story.

 I am looking forward to reading the second book, Stolen Life, which is scheduled to come out on May 19, 2021, and seeing where Ms. Pauls takes Cas & Ian.❣️

READ AN EXCERPT HERE: https://blogspot.us3.list-manage.com/track/click?u=02d8814aa30c256a59f7d8b05&id=632632af60&e=eb4f5afa16

AUTHOR BIO

Charmaine Pauls was born in Bloemfontein, South Africa. She obtained a degree in Communication at the University of Potchestroom, and followed a diverse career path in journalism, public relations, advertising, communications, photography, graphic design, and brand marketing. Her writing has always been an integral part of her professions. 

After relocating to Chile with her French husband, she fulfilled her passion to write creatively full-time. Charmaine has published over twenty novels since 2011, as well as several short stories and articles. Two of her shorts have been selected by the International Literary Society for an anthology from across the African continent.

When she is not writing, she likes to travel, read, and rescue cats. Charmaine currently lives in France with her husband and children. Their household is a linguistic mélange of Afrikaans, English, French and Spanish.

AUTHOR LINKS
 
Website: https://charmainepauls.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ForbiddenArts
Facebook Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/1120749574670443
Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Charmaine-Pauls/e/B005LY9B82
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5161287.Charmaine_Pauls
Twitter:  https://twitter.com/CharmainePauls
Bookbub: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/charmaine-pauls
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/charmainepaulsbooks

PURCHASE LINKS 
 
US: https://amzn.to/2NYLzPN
UK: https://amzn.to/308IE9B
CA: https://amzn.to/3bYwVjx
AU: https://amzn.to/3uMajLT
B&N: https://bit.ly/3rfQj1I
Kobo: https://bit.ly/3sFIFhw
Apple Books: http://apple.co/3c0vz7J
Google Play: https://bit.ly/3bckXDK

GIVEAWAY
 
There is a giveaway for a $50 Amazon gift card

https://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/ba3ffd552763/

* Please note the quotes in my review are subject to change once the book is published. * 

** I kindly received an ARC of Stolen Lust by way of Charmaine Pauls. I was not contacted, asked, or required to leave a review. I received no compensation, financial or otherwise. I have voluntarily read this book, and this review is my honest opinion. **

Ten Rules for Faking It

Author: Sophie Sullivan

My Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️

Content Rating: 16+

Genre: Romance, Contemporary, Fiction, Chick Lit 

Published: December 29, 2020, by St. Martin’s Griffin

Ten Rules for Faking It is Sophie Sullivan’s rom-com debut novel. However, she is an experienced writer of cozy mysteries, contemporary romance, and sports romances and writes under the name Jody Holford. Ten Rules for Faking It is the first book I have read of Sophie Sullivan, and to be honest, I expected this book to be better than it was. My initial rating was 2.5 stars, but I rounded up because The Rules for Faking It was her first attempt at a rom-com. 

The one thing that I did like about this book was the attempt to bring light to issues surrounding social anxiety, malignant relationships, and parents that overstep their boundaries. And I feel the author could have done so much more with this storyline. I also felt that there were conflicting aspects throughout this book that just didn’t fit.

  I do not know how to categorize this book. Is it a slow burn or an insta-love romance?  I usually like both types of romances if they are believable. Unfortunately, this book was not likely. The pacing of this book was so slow that it teetered on being boring. I found myself skimming parts with the hope of getting to the meat of the story.

Let’s start with the characters; Everly, our main character, has severe social anxiety. She produces a radio show with her best friend and deejay Stacey. Everly preferers to stay out of the limelight. On her thirtieth birthday, Everly finds her scumbag of a boyfriend in bed with another woman. Then she goes to work to tell her best friend Stacey what happened, and Stacey accidentally lets Everly tell the whole story over live radio.  From this incident comes the inception of a bachelorette style dating competition, with Everly being the centerpiece. I have trouble believing that anyone with social anxiety would agree to this. Throughout this book, there seems to be a theme where Stacey knows best what Everly needs and pushes her. Sorry, but a good friend would never participate in those types of behaviors.  

Chris Jensen is Everly’s boss at the radio station. He has known Everly for a year and has had feelings for her since the moment he met her; ahh, that’s insta-love in my book. But he did nothing about his feelings for a whole year; that’s the slow burn aspect. And then boom, they both start to have feelings for each other. 

Chris was sent by his rich father to rework the radio station and make it successful. And by doing this, Chris proves his worth to his father. He claims to love Everly but is okay with putting her in uncomfortable situations throughout the book, but swoops in to pick up the pieces when she falls apart.

Unfortunately, I didn’t love any of the characters. I felt they were underdeveloped and at times spoiled and whiney, mostly Chris and Stacey. I will give the author credit for her attempt at showing us what people with social anxiety deal with daily. As far as the writing went, it was just okay, but the plot line just didn’t work for me to the point that I struggled to finish.  

*I kindly received this galley by way of NetGalley, publisher, and author. I was not contacted, asked, or required to leave a review. I received no compensation, financial or otherwise. I have voluntarily read this book, and this review is my honest opinion. *

STOLEN LUST

Stolen Lust
A Diamond Magnate Novel

Series: Beauty in the Stolen Trilogy #1
Author: Charmaine Pauls
Genre: Dark Romance

Cover Design: Okay Creations
Photo: Wander Aguiar Photography
Model: Zack

Ian Hart is the most notorious criminal in the country. Like the thief he is, he came in the dark and stole a night of my life.
 
He left me with souvenirs. Disaster and fear are my new realities. I’ll forever look over my shoulder, terrified he’d return, because when he took me, he stole more than just a few hours of my time.
 
His crime has consequences neither of us could’ve imagined. If I’m to escape the nightmare of my life, I have to outsmart him. If I’m to survive, I have to outwit every enemy he’s turned against me, including Ian himself, the most dangerous and cleverest man I know.

US: https://amzn.to/2NYLzPN
UK: https://amzn.to/308IE9B
CA: https://amzn.to/3bYwVjx
AU: https://amzn.to/3uMajLT
B&N: https://bit.ly/3rfQj1I
Kobo: https://bit.ly/3sFIFhw
Apple Books: http://apple.co/3c0vz7J
Google Play: https://bit.ly/3bckXDK

Charmaine Pauls was born in Bloemfontein, South Africa. She obtained a degree in Communication at the University of Potchestroom, and followed a diverse career path in journalism, public relations, advertising, communications, photography, graphic design, and brand marketing. Her writing has always been an integral part of her professions. 

After relocating to Chile with her French husband, she fulfilled her passion to write creatively full-time. Charmaine has published over twenty novels since 2011, as well as several short stories and articles. Two of her shorts have been selected by the International Literary Society for an anthology from across the African continent.

When she is not writing, she likes to travel, read, and rescue cats. Charmaine currently lives in France with her husband and children. Their household is a linguistic mélange of Afrikaans, English, French and Spanish.

AUTHOR LINKS
 
Website: https://charmainepauls.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ForbiddenArts
Facebook Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/1120749574670443
Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Charmaine-Pauls/e/B005LY9B82
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5161287.Charmaine_Pauls
Twitter:  https://twitter.com/CharmainePauls
Bookbub: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/charmaine-pauls
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/charmainepaulsbooks


 
 

GIVEAWAY
 
There is a giveaway for a $50 Amazon gift card
 

Direct Link:
 
http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/ba3ffd552750

*Stolen Lust is Book 1 of the Beauty in the Stolen trilogy and ends on a cliffhanger. Book 2 will be released on 18 May 2021 and Book 3 on 22 June 2021.
 

Other books in the Diamond Magnate collection:
Beauty in the Broken (Standalone)
 
Diamonds are Forever trilogy
Diamonds in the Dust (Book 1)
Diamonds in the Rough (Book 2)
Diamonds are Forever (Book 3)
 

The Pearl (The Godwicks, #3)

My Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟

Content Rating: 18+

Genre: Romance, Adult Fiction, Contemporary 

Published: December 1, 2020, by 8th Circle Press

The Pearl is the third book in The Godwicks’ Series, but no worries, you can read this one as a standalone. However, you will be missing out on a very sexy series, and I recommend the other books in the series. Tiffany Reisz can write erotica; we all know that.  I love that she combines a twist of mystery and a paranormal element to her writing. And in this book adds a bit of art.

You will like this book if you enjoy a storyline with a dominant older woman and a younger man. But not to worry, only about nine years are separating them. Lord Arthur Godwick may only be 21, but he is mature, a bit of an old soul with a side of brat. Arthur is nothing like the previous Godwicks we have met. He is kindhearted, patient, and you feel that he genuinely loves his family.  Arthur is summoned to The Pearl Hotel by the new owner Lady Reagan Ferry. Arthur’s younger irresponsible brother, Charlie, has run up quite a tab at the hotel. Charlie has not only run up a bill but to make matters worse, he has given Lady Ferry the painting of Lord Malcolm Godwick, which is cherished by their parents.  Arthur believes Lady Ferry has summoned him there to pay his brother’s tab. Lady Ferry does want payment but not in cash.   

“‘ There is something quite poetic about this, isn’t there? The great-grandson of The Pearl’s most infamous customer becoming a whore for the great-granddaughter of one of the Pearl’s best whores?'” (Reagan)

The book takes off from there.  Reagan and Arthur sizzle on the page; they develop from two damaged people into a strong, funny, sensual couple that will wiggle their way into your heart. It was beautiful to watch Arthur, with his immeasurable tenderness and willingness to love, melt Reagan’s heart.  Reagan goes from a timid young woman who lived under her ancient controlling husband’s thumb to a beautiful, successful, confident woman. And then there is Arthur, sweet, loving, and the ultimate dutiful son. It is lovely to watch Reagan bring out his submissive but very sexy side. Let’s just say he knows his way around a string of pearls. 

Another thing that I found unique about this book was the way Ms. Reisz used famous artwork to enrich the plot. She cleverly wove the paintings into every aspect of the story. The Pearl was an emotionally provocative love story with some interesting plot twists. Ms. Reisz not only writes an erotic tale but also writes her characters beautifully, giving them a depth that will endear you to them. 

* Please note the quotes in my review are subject to change once the book is published. * 

** I kindly received this galley by way of NetGalley, publisher, and author. I was not contacted, asked, or required to leave a review. I received no compensation, financial or otherwise. I have voluntarily read this book, and this review is my honest opinion. **